Sagada, Bokong Falls – The First Salvo

I just had to seperate this post because my Bokong falls experience was an eye opener for me during my Sagada trip. As I’ve said in my previous entry, a lot of things terrify me, espcially when water is concerned. Now, I’ m a nature lover, and I love water, but I just have this irrational fear that when I swim, some unknown creature will just grab me and drown me or something. I know, don’t laugh, it’s ridiculous right? And this is the reason why I never learned how to swim.

So anyway, the trek going down to the falls was tedious. There, were stairs again, but I just felt like it was never going to end. But eventually it did, and when we reached our destination, I was in awe. The falls was small. It had 2 levels, and the water landed on what seemed like a spring. Of course, my adventurous side kicked in instantly, and I was one of those, who immediately started to wade in the water.

Bokong falls

Bokong falls

Don’t be fooled by this photo. It looks low and all, but it’s not. I watched each and everyone of my friends jump off from those two cliffs, and it seemed pretty high to me. Yes, they all jumped, and because I didn’t know how to swim, I ended up being their photo/videographer, which was fine because I still enjoyed watching them. I did look like a loser though, but you know, I really did have fun. In my head, I cliff-dived about a hundred times so it was all good. Haha.

Falling in line to jump off  the first cliff.
Falling in line to jump off the first cliff.
2nd level.
2nd level.

Well okay, I’m going to admit, I felt pretty bad for myself because I couldn’t do what they were doing. From that moment on, I vowed to the rocks and plants that I was going to try new things and take risks. Good thing, I didn’t have to wait long, because the next activity, definitely changed me for good. Read my spelunking adventure here.

After a few minutes spent down at the falls, we had to get going again. Going up was the worst part of all, I felt like I was going to die, literally. I was so out of breath, I was at the end of the line, and I felt like I was going to vomit. My being a smoker didn’t help me here at all. Bad lungs + a bad case of altitude sickness felt like there was an explosion happening in my chest. I swore that day that I was going to quit, but okay, I didn’t. It did teach me a valuable lesson though, take care of your body if you have plans on exploring the world.

One thought on “Sagada, Bokong Falls – The First Salvo

  1. […] We went inside this cave which was one of the many burial sites used by the natives. I belive, up to this day, their burial rituals are still alive, which is kind of golden, if you think about it. Going inside was a bit creepy, but hey you gotta give me thrill points for this. There were a few bones lying around, which kind of gave me the heebie jeebies. After a quick discussion, provided by our trusty tour guide, Mang Sotero, we were on the move again. Of course going down was easy, but the uphill trek was much more  grueling. I felt like I was going to die. Indeed, this was a prelude to something much harder and exhausting. After that eerie bit, we headed off to another trail going to a small waterfall called Bokong Falls. Which you’ll find here. […]

I'd appreciate a comment. Have a great day!

