Curvy Diaries: The We That Never Was -Ep.#2

Disclaimer: All characters and events mentioned in the Curvy Diaries series are fictitious. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

“Hey, did you lose weight? You look great.” Did I hear him correctly, or was I freakin hallucinating? I turned to his direction, with eyes widened at him. I wanted to make sure I wasn’t just seeing or hearing things. He was still wearing that stupid grin on his face. In my head, I was trying to come up with a witty remark that could mask my already blushing ego, but all I could do was notice how much he’s changed. I’m doomed was all I could tell myself. This boy’s finally got game.

image

From the looks of it, he’s grown a few inches taller and has gotten leaner. His chubby round face is gone while his jaw seemed more defined. He looked more like a man now, plus he decided to grow these ridiculously hot sideburns that reminded me of a young Elvis. Two years ago, he seriously looked like a lost little boy with all that baby fat, but now, he’s like a totally different person. He was all sweaty, with a skateboard in tow. I remembered he loved skating a lot. “Seriously, Meems, you look great.” He repeated. His new look was such a distraction, I couldn’t come up with anything. All I could squeak out was a tiny thank you. Defeated, I plumped down in the sofa, and he followed suit. Maybe he could sense the bit of tension I was feeling, because he sat down as far away from me as possible. We were sitting on opposite edges of the couch and I could feel his eyes on me. In my peripheral view, I could see that his big toothy smile still hasn’t vanished.

I wanted to slap the grin off his face. If only I had the guts to do so, I would’ve.  To distract me from the current annoyance at hand, I decided to switch on the television. He was pretty silent the whole time while I mindlessly surfed through the channels. This no-talking game felt pretty exhausting, and I knew he felt it too because he started drumming his fingers on the skateboard sitting on his lap. Drum drum drum, the sound drove me crazy. “What do you want John?” I muttered in an exasperated tone. “Nothing.” He said. “Or a glass of water, maybe?” I rolled my eyes at him. He was trying to be cute. I hated it, I hated him for showing up. I know I look ridiculous, overreacting like he’s my ex or something, but that’s exactly my problem. He’s not and he never will be anything more than my friend. I hate the fact that after two years of being gone, he comes rushing back into my life, acting like he never left. What was he expecting me to do, do a happy dance the moment I saw him? I was trying to forget about how I felt about him, and now everything’s screwed up because he’s back. I thought I was okay. I thought I’m okay with us being “just friends”, but now I’m not so sure.

image

I went into the kitchen to pour him a glass of water. He followed me, and we just stood there in silence. I hated the way he moved so freely in my house, but in some weird way, I liked it. I almost showed the slightest hint of a smile, but I stopped myself. I wasn’t even sure if I was ready to be around him again, but okay, I’m going to try. He was never your boyfriend, Mimi, so stop acting like a scorned woman, okay? Right. That’s what i told myself. I didn’t want to look like the crazy dumpee that I already am, so I decided to make small talk. “You and Kathy still together?” I asked. “No, she left me.” “Sorry to hear that, man. How long have you been broken up?” He sighed. “It’s been a month now.” I didn’t know what to say. I could’ve easily said something mean about Kathy or something, and I should’ve felt happy because he was finally single, but I didn’t feel any of that. What I felt for him was sadness. I just touched his shoulder, and gave him a reassuring smile. “You’ll be okay.” “I hope so.” He replied. He grabbed the glass of water and downed it all in one gulp. Just like that, all the tension vanished between us. My bitterness faded, and I instantly switched to friend mode. Our friendship’s still the most important thing to me, after all.

(To be continued…)

What do you think’s going to happen next? What would you like to happen to John and Mimi? Your thoughts and comments would be greatly appreciated. Missed the first episode? You can read Part 1 of “The We That Never Was” here. Read the next episodes here.

I'd appreciate a comment. Have a great day!

