[Food] Recipe: Saba Banana Poppers

Image

It’s been months since I last posted a recipe here. My Graham Balls Recipe has been getting lots of hits, I figured I should give you readers another recipe that’s relatively easy to do. (Looks at watch) Oh look, it’s 3 PM here, that means it’s merienda time again (snack time), and here’s a recipe that will blow your socks off (mine did at least lol).

The last time I visited the province was fiesta season. Of course, we did a lot of cooking, and we always had to think on our feet in coming up with things to eat. Good thing we had most items readily available, and all we had to do was to get creative.  Now, the Saba Banana is a breakfast staple here. It’s usually served fried, but it’s getting old, don’t you agree? This recipe puts a unique twist on the boring and bland fried Saging na Saba.  Okay, I must admit that when I was younger, I wasn’t a fan of this banana, but after trying this recipe out (after 21 years), I have been officially converted.

Now, I’m no chef, okay. I’m not going to give you exact measurements or technical words, I will just tell you how I did it. It’s really up to you and your taste on how you’ll go about the recipe. Just be cautious and enjoy cooking!

Here’s what you’ll need:

Ripe Saba Bananas (depending on how many you can eat), 5 to 7 pcs, sliced diagonally
Unsalted Butter
Brown Sugar
Parmesan Cheese

Procedure:

Slice the bananas diagonlly, dividing them into 3 pcs. Bite-sized pieces are better. Heat a frying and melt the butter. Put in the bananas and fry them until their slightly brown. Sprinkle some brown sugar on top of the bananas and allow them to melt. Stir until all bananas are coated with sugar and butter (yeah you can add butter again). When the bananas are golden brown, then you’re good to. Transfer them on a plate and top with parmesan cheese.

You’ll be surprised at how it tastes! Hope you enjoy it!

One thought on “[Food] Recipe: Saba Banana Poppers

I'd appreciate a comment. Have a great day!

